I’ve been doing a lot of reading since we got here.

  1. The Paris Wife  by Paula McLain  I’ve never been a fan of Ernest Hemingway, and even reading this fictionalized account of his life with his first wife, Hadley, I found myself rolling my eyes at almost everything he said or did.  Initially I identified with Hadley’s loneliness, but as the book progressed, I ended up wanting to smack her and say “STOP IT.  YOU DON’T NEED HIM.”
  2. The Help by Kathryn Stockett  This was the best book I’ve read in ages.  It was unpretentious, yet incredibly thought provoking.  But, I don’t think I’ll be able to read Gone with the Wind  for a while.
  3. A Stolen Life by Jaycee Lee Dugard  I don’t read true crime books.  Ever.  In my experience, they’re written to profit from someone else’s pain…and I can’t get over that inherent parasitism.  However, this book was different.  Not only was it written by Dugard, herself, but a portion of the profits are going to the charity she began, the JAYC Foundation.  It was a short, but incredibly difficult read.
  4. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides’ work is beautiful, poetic, and quite pretentious.  But the 16 year old indie girl in me loved ever word of it.
  5. Ada, or Ardor by Vladimir Nabokov  This novel is a masterpiece simply for the astonishing beauty of Nabokov’s words.  Without its almost lyrical language, it would be a(nother) book about the incestuous sex lives of the idle rich.  But it’s not.  It’s a complex, heartbreakingly beautiful love story peppered with references to Rimbaud and Verlaine.  (Arthur Rimbaud is my favorite poet evereverever.)
So…what should I read next? 
