Because I’m leaving Tuesday (and I’m terrified), I spent the better part of the weekend with The Boy.  Though I have no idea what the future has in store for either of us, it’s apparent we still care deeply for one another.

Things I Consciously Missed

  1. Having a cup of tea & a nice long chat at The Boy’s mother’s house.
  2. The calm of the Connecticut shoreline.
  3. Happy Meals at 3 a.m.  Because.
  4. After-lunch naps.
  5. Being tucked in with too many blankets and a kiss when he gets up for work and thinks I’m still sleeping.

As I was driving home this morning, the wind caught my hair.  I smelled whatever scent it is that exists in that spot between his neck and shoulder, where I bury my face in a good hug.  I wish I could keep it with me for the next however-many-weeks, but ex-girlfriends don’t borrow hoodies, and I need to wash my hair.

 

