I spent yesterday evening babysitting my neighbor’s three children, and was told that I’m not a grown-up because I’m not married and I’m not tall enough.  (I’m barely 5’1″…their parents are both over 6′.)  The conversation then turned into “Well why aren’t you married?  When will you get married?  Who do you want to marry?”  Since a 25 year old boy’s commitment issues are difficult to explain to a third grader, I said I just want to marry someone who buys me a lot of ice cream.

I hate hearing that I’ll meet the right person when the time is right, because I’m a control freak and don’t like admitting that I’m powerless over anything.  I want to meet that person now, but I’m in no hurry to get married if that makes any sense.    I just miss the stability I thought I had.

For the time being, I’m just trying to focus on getting into grad school.  Yeah, it might be a distraction, but so far it’s a pretty darn good one.

On the other hand, I’m meeting The Boy to see Harry Potter this afternoon.  I will try very hard to keep it platonic, because while he may not be able to control his impulses, I know I can.

Ehh…Woody Allen can explain my thoughts better than I can:

 

